Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

A revival of Cajun
Bookmark and Share
SwampHound Offline
All American

I Root For:
CrappiesCrappies

Many do not know what a Cajun is or how it is defined, I saw this posted on the Delphi board and thought this woud be a good article to help that question somewhat. I studied a semester under Dr. Brasseaux, in my opinion there is no person more knowledgeable of Cajun history and culture.

<a href='http://www.herald.ns.ca/stories/2004/07/27/fNovaScotia111.raw.html' target='_blank'>http://www.herald.ns.ca/stories/2004/07/27...tia111.raw.html</a>

Acadia's Louisiana descendants fought against discrimination
By SUSAN BRADLEY / Staff Reporter

LAFAYETTE, La. - For nearly a century, Acadian descendants in Louisiana were victims of deeply ingrained discrimination.

Carl Brasseaux, director of Louisiana studies at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, is a Cajun who remembers only too well the kind of stigma attached to his culture.

"Beginning in the 1850s and continuing forward to the post-World War Two era, the term Cajun meant French-speaking white trash," he said in an interview in his office at the university.

Cajuns were commonly considered to be "backward, ignorant and stupid - illiterate swamp dwellers."

In a social hierarchy topped by white Europeans, Cajuns were on the bottom rung of white society, one level above free coloured people, Brasseaux said.

After their expulsion from Canada, Acadians settled in the wetlands and prairies of southern Louisiana, creating tightly knit communities whose people were isolated first by geography and later by language and custom.

Even after railways and highways connected the communities with the rest of Louisiana and the United States, the French-speaking Catholics were slow to assimilate, Brasseaux said.

Language was one obstacle, he said.

Cajun children often started school speaking only French, resulting in punishment by school officials and ridicule from other students.