CSNbbs
Big East university campuses and personnel - Printable Version

+- CSNbbs (https://csnbbs.com)
+-- Forum: Proving Grounds (/forum-768.html)
+--- Forum: BigEastbbs (/forum-771.html)
+---- Forum: Big East Conference Talk (/forum-772.html)
+---- Thread: Big East university campuses and personnel (/thread-898270.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Big East university campuses and personnel - bill dazzle - 04-19-2020 08:17 AM

As some of you might know, I am a hobbyist regarding urban placemaking. I've always been fascinated by the manmade environment, including architecture, construction, city planning, skyscrapers and mass transit.

I would be curious to get folks' takes on the "form and function" — the feel and vibe, if you will — of the Big East university campuses. This involves how the buildings interact with each other, how pedestrians interact with the buildings and how the campuses interact with their respective cities.

I have seen via car the campuses of Marquette, Providence and Xavier.

I have walked (at least to an extent) the campuses of Butler, DePaul, Georgetown and St. John's.

I have not seen in any manner the campuses of Connecticut, Creighton, Seton Hall and Villanova.

And I often "visit" the campuses (and those of other conferences) via Google Satellite View and Google Street View.

Showing my homerism, DePaul's campus is my favorite of those in the Big East. I like the way the elevated train (the Red Line) runs along the east side of the campus. When I lived in Chicago, it was called the Howard Line and I took the train to and from work in the Loop.

A campus that intrigued me when I visited it in summer 1991 is that of St. John's in Queens. It is smallish (105 acres), thus offering some interesting quirkiness and building density.

Thoughts?

RE: Big East university campuses - HuskyU - 04-19-2020 12:10 PM

Storrs is very much like a Big Ten campus (minus the on-campus football/hockey venues).