Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
Anyone familiar with TCL branded tvs?
Author Message
PirateTreasureNC Offline
G's up, Ho's Down ; )
*

Posts: 32,418
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 470
I Root For: ECU Pirates,
Location:
Post: #1
Anyone familiar with TCL branded tvs?
I was helping someone set their tv up and I ran across something that is puzzling me. I don't think its tied to the dvd player or the sattelite box but I feel like it is tied to the input on the tv itself.

Anyway, the persons dvd player and satellite box are set up to come in via the Composite connection. I set up the dvd player being hooked up to a 16:9 tv but it shows up on the tv in a 4:3 box. I didn't go through the Sattelite menu at the time to check off what tv it was set up for but it did still only fill up the tv in a 4:3 box instead of stretching to fill out the screen.

I am wondering that the tv is somehow limiting the composite input to just a 4:3 box and that is it.
12-04-2017 05:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply

BePcr07 Online
Special Teams
*

Posts: 629
Joined: Dec 2015
Reputation: 32
I Root For: Boise St & Zags
Location:
Post: #2
RE: Anyone familiar with TCL branded tvs?
I have a TCL and didn't have much of an issue with anything being set up. That being said, I have only hooked up the cable box and Apple TV, so neither a satellite connection nor a DVD player.

For those wondering about TCL, it is more of a name brand than you may realize. TCL is the components manufacturer for either LG or Samsung TVs (can't remember which) and had an active non-compete agreement until recently. So, essentially, it's the same TV as whichever major brand it makes parts for and is about half the price or so.
(This post was last modified: 12-05-2017 10:04 AM by BePcr07.)
12-05-2017 10:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
PirateTreasureNC Offline
G's up, Ho's Down ; )
*

Posts: 32,418
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 470
I Root For: ECU Pirates,
Location:
Post: #3
RE: Anyone familiar with TCL branded tvs?
The person didn't have any HDMI cords for the only box that used it, which was the satellite box. It just seemed really odd.
12-05-2017 12:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply

chess Offline
Heisman
*

Posts: 5,764
Joined: Dec 2003
Reputation: 137
I Root For: ECU & Nebraska
Location: Chicagoland
Post: #4
RE: Anyone familiar with TCL branded tvs?
This sounds like a DVD menu option issue.

First- Make sure your DVD that you are testing is a wide format DVD. I know. I know. You already checked but some DVDs are 4:3 DVDs.

With the DVD remote, go to settings. Look for the settings where you can pick the format you wish. Make sure it is set for 16:9.
12-05-2017 01:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
PirateTreasureNC Offline
G's up, Ho's Down ; )
*

Posts: 32,418
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 470
I Root For: ECU Pirates,
Location:
Post: #5
RE: Anyone familiar with TCL branded tvs?
(12-05-2017 01:44 PM)chess Wrote:  This sounds like a DVD menu option issue.

First- Make sure your DVD that you are testing is a wide format DVD. I know. I know. You already checked but some DVDs are 4:3 DVDs.

With the DVD remote, go to settings. Look for the settings where you can pick the format you wish. Make sure it is set for 16:9.

Set the tv for the dvd player as 16:9 when the output goes to the tv, the tv still puts it as 4:3. The dvds were 16:9 and I believe anamorphic as well. Even the dvd player menu by itself doesn't fill the screen, it sits there in perfect 4:3.
12-05-2017 05:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Copyright © 2002-2018 Collegiate Sports Nation Bulletin Board System (CSNbbs), All Rights Reserved.
CSNbbs is an independent fan site and is in no way affiliated to the NCAA or any of the schools and conferences it represents.
This site monetizes links. FTC Disclosure.
Powered By MyBB, © 2002-2018 MyBB Group.