Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

About half of U.S. mortgages seen underwater by 2011
DrTorch Offline
Proved mach and GTS to be liars

I Root For: ASU, BGSU
CrappiesDonatorsBalance of Power Contest
About half of U.S. mortgages seen underwater by 2011
http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20090805/bs_n...utschebank

Someone on this board (sorry, getting names confused) predicted this very thing. 04-bow
08-06-2009 07:58 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Advertisement

mlb Offline
O' Great One

I Root For: Cincinnati
Donators
RE: About half of U.S. mortgages seen underwater by 2011
I just don't see these home prices falling that precipitously. Granted, I'm no expert on real estate, but for 50% of mortgages to be underwater in 18 months means that the houses have to lose another 20% or more of value.
08-06-2009 08:19 AM
Lord Stanley Offline
L'Étoile du Nord

I Root For: NIU
(08-06-2009 08:19 AM)mlb Wrote:  I just don't see these home prices falling that precipitously. Granted, I'm no expert on real estate, but for 50% of mortgages to be underwater in 18 months means that the houses have to lose another 20% or more of value.

Depends in many ways as to the type of home you have. Entry level / starter homes have probably hit bottom in most markets, since these homes typically had the least amount of equity and had to most mobile home owners (young professional, job hopping, no kids, not tied to area etc) These homes will not lose much if any more value.

Next painful round will be the mid to higher level homes, the sort of homes that you sold your starter home to move into, and put down a fair amount for downpayment (say +15%) and you are now tied to area (career, family) These homes probably have another 10% to fall.